PDA

View Full Version : Dolphin kick on breast pullout



jnbaker
February 18th, 2008, 01:27 PM
Is it legal now to throw a dolphin kick at the end of a pullout in breastroke? If so, when did that happen?

I swam in a master's meet yesterday, and was surprised to see people incorporating dolphin kicks into their breat pullouts. Everytime, I looked at the official at of habbit - expecting him to raise his hand, but he didn't...

quicksilver
February 18th, 2008, 01:32 PM
As of last year...you can take one dolphin kick during the pull-out.

Most people time it (the dolphin) with the finish of the hands by the waist.
Then they do their regular breaststroke kick before the breakout.


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ckTpJOpJt78

jnbaker
February 18th, 2008, 01:44 PM
Thanks quicksilver!

Man, I wish I had gone over the rules before yesterday. I swam both the 50 and 100 yd breast yesterday, and hate feeling like I could have gone faster...

ande
February 18th, 2008, 02:19 PM
yes

Kosuke "kick"ajima takes his when his arms are completing the pull down, that's how I do mine

Hansen takes his just before his arms start the pull down

Some breastrokers dolphin kick in the bubbles after they dive in,
(the judges can't see)
http://youtube.com/watch?v=lRkB9RclSA4
http://youtube.com/watch?v=gZzzvIrzC9M


Is it legal now to throw a dolphin kick at the end of a pullout in breastroke? If so, when did that happen?

I swam in a master's meet yesterday, and was surprised to see people incorporating dolphin kicks into their breat pullouts. Everytime, I looked at the official at of habbit - expecting him to raise his hand, but he didn't...

quicksilver
February 18th, 2008, 02:46 PM
You're welcome John.



http://youtube.com/watch?v=lRkB9RclSA4

Did you see the middle lane at the entry?
Two dolphins??!

Is that allowed?...or did the legs just flicker after they entered?

pwolf66
February 18th, 2008, 03:53 PM
No that was definately a dolphin but it's going to be nearly impossible for a judge to see it with the entry splash.

Allen Stark
February 18th, 2008, 08:30 PM
Two kicks such as he did are definitely illegal.It is hard to see,but also the level of cowardly officials seems to go up at international meets.If he'd done it at a local Masters Meet he'd have been much more likely to be DQ'd.

ande
February 18th, 2008, 08:45 PM
i think the double dolphin is hard to catch
masters refs probably wouldn't see it


Two kicks such as he did are definitely illegal.It is hard to see,but also the level of cowardly officials seems to go up at international meets. If he'd done it at a local Masters Meet he'd have been much more likely to be DQ'd.

Allen Stark
February 18th, 2008, 09:29 PM
Ande,its hard to see if it is right after the dive so it's lost in the bubbles(as some coaches of questionable character are teaching:rant3:) but this one looked late enough and distinct enough that it might have been caught. There needs to definitely be underwater camera judging for major international meets IMHO.

Thrashing Slug
February 18th, 2008, 10:17 PM
They should add underwater camera judging, and then revert back to the old no-dolphin rule. The only reason it's there now is because the cheaters were too hard to catch.

LindsayNB
February 18th, 2008, 10:48 PM
Strangely, the new rule did nothing to actually address the inability to see kicks immediately after entry, it just moved us from cheaters doing one dolphin kick to doing two. It did remove the need to judge whether a motion that looks like a dolphin kick was an illegal dolphin kick or just a motion that flowed out of an energetic pull down. For that reason they wouldn't withdraw it even if they had cameras. Not that they would likely withdraw a rule anyway.

With camera technology becoming so cheap I wonder how long it will be before cameras are readily available for meets. It would certainly be great for swimmers to be able to review their races in detail.