PDA

View Full Version : "Real swimmers don't wear wetsuits"

Ken Classen
February 17th, 2003, 12:35 PM
The open water discussion has been a little boring lately so time to add some controversy. The above quote was affixed to a plaque my swimmers gave me when I retired as Head Coach of the University of Denver Masters Swim Team. Yes, they knew where I stood on the subject. Others share my view. In my day job as a stock broker I came across an article in the Wall Street Journal “Wimp or Triathlete, You Probably Like That New Wetsuit" by Kevin Helliker, published on September 24, 1999. In it were several memorable quotes on the subject. "How pathetic, says Betsy Brennan a Lake Michigan swimmer" "When I see people in wetsuits, I think: wimp." Another Chicagoan Ted Erikson, who did a double crossing of the English Channel without a wetsuit, said on the increasingly use of wetsuit by swimmers in Lake Michigan. "I ask them, 'Why don't you just get a boat? Boats have heaters.”:D

Paul Smith
February 17th, 2003, 05:40 PM
Ken, did you catch last Sunday's 60 minutes special on Lynn Cox (a former team mate of mine at UCSB!)? She recently swam one mile in 33 degree water off Antartica without a wetsuit, what a stud!

I'm going to remind mark Gill of that fact the next time I hear him whining down at ASU about the pool temp being 80!

cinc3100
February 18th, 2003, 12:36 AM
I saw that piece on Lynn Cox too. Only she and another human have survive water at 40 degrees or lower. You and I would die of hypertherma if we tried that. Her body protects her from such cold and I think they said it had to do with how the blood flowed to one of her legs. On record she is a little taller than me and we both weight near the same range.

Leonard Jansen
February 18th, 2003, 09:04 AM