PDA

View Full Version : T-15 with fins?

coggel
May 23rd, 2008, 12:55 PM
I'm a newbie with a quick question on Hines "Fitness Swimming." Should I wear the fins for the T-15 swim tests?

Here's a little background. I'm in good shape just new to swimming. I've been following the workouts pretty closely. I'm finishing the Blue workouts. My stoke per distance averages 12/25m without fins (those are individual strokes not cycles). I can get it down to 9 if I'm doing a lot of gliding. However my cruise times on the T-15 aren't improving.

Right now I'm doing the tests without fins. On most of the balance drills I use them. On the swim drills I generally don't. I thought I shouldn't be using them for the tests but at one point in the book Coach Hines seems to indicate it may be OK for newbs to do.

LindsayNB
May 23rd, 2008, 01:48 PM
Short answer: No. :D

Longer answer: if you aren't happy with your speed you need to change how you swim not what equipment you use, that will only tell you how much faster you are with fins. What time do you take for 50m or 100m at 12spl? 12 spl is pretty low for a "newbie"!

Dolphin 2
May 23rd, 2008, 02:37 PM
I'm a newbie with a quick question on Hines "Fitness Swimming." Should I wear the fins for the T-15 swim tests?

Here's a little background. I'm in good shape just new to swimming. I've been following the workouts pretty closely. I'm finishing the Blue workouts. My stoke per distance averages 12/25m without fins (those are individual strokes not cycles). I can get it down to 9 if I'm doing a lot of gliding. However my cruise times on the T-15 aren't improving.

Right now I'm doing the tests without fins. On most of the balance drills I use them. On the swim drills I generally don't. I thought I shouldn't be using them for the tests but at one point in the book Coach Hines seems to indicate it may be OK for newbs to do.

Hey Coggle