PDA

View Full Version : Teaching a complete Beginner

proberts
June 23rd, 2008, 04:30 PM
Hi, I taught swim lessons many years ago and am now trying to teach a friend of mine to swim. She is a cyclist who wants to do a tri. She is a complete beginner, she can dog paddle and thats it. Where do I start?? I use to teach kids and you would start with the " Missle" float...then add the kick...then the arms. I know there are some much more experienced teachers out there and was hoping for some guidance...drills etc. Thanks! Paul

david.margrave
June 24th, 2008, 11:43 AM
I have no teaching experience so these are just my random thoughts. I would have the student practice a lot of streamlined pushes off the walls, to give a sensation of going through the water quickly and learn the importance of minimizing drag. Then maybe floating prone (on stomach or back) and kicking with fins, then progress to working on the stroke. I would probably teach a 2-beat kick because that requires less coordination and helps focus on balance, with the opposing arm and leg moving at the same time.

I just remembered I do have a little experience offering people tips. For example one time I was practicing at an open water swim area and there's this triathlon couple decked out in expensive wetsuits who can barely swim. Truly. The lady asks me about races I've done and I start giving her tips, and she is interested in getting advice and follows my suggestions, but the guy is one of these jealous types with ego issues, and quickly starts glaring at me, so I say "fine, you teach her" and swim off.

AnnG
June 24th, 2008, 07:43 PM