PDA

View Full Version : Where do the old geezers post?

Gills
August 25th, 2008, 02:39 AM
Hi,

I'm a newbie on this forum, just getting back into swimming again after a few decades of not competing (read "not swimming at all") practically since high school. Are there others in the 55-plus category out there who'd like to warn me of the pitfalls, share war stories, etc.?

For starters, just this evening bought one of those tank type suits at the biggest Sports store in the city. It was either black or some non-descript peptobismol color, so I chose the black. Only two were left in my size. I don't look quite the same as I did when a teen in these for some strange reason. Ladies, don't they have some sort of garment to wear under these things for support, for cryin' out loud?!!! Looks like I'm wearing a fat suit under it! OK, so for my reward, I'm going to get the next smaller size as soon as I'm, well, the next smaller size from all this exercise I'm going to get. Hopefully, by then, there will be a wider selection (that DIDN'T come out right!).

I'll be starting out doing laps and other things to get myself into a little better condition before I attempt to get the coaching, but I look forward to improving my stroke with that, so won't wait too long. I'm an old backstroker, but want to work on other strokes, particularly free.

Much of my goal has to do with wanting to feel better with more energy and endurance. I have been slowed down a bit (decades) with undiagnosed celiac disease and gluten sensitivity and it's repercussions, but now that I'm treating that with diet, I'm all better, just out of shape. Exercise, particularly swimming gave me so much energy in my youth, so I'm hoping that will happen again.