PDA

View Full Version : How long does it take?

dwlovell
October 8th, 2008, 04:32 PM
So I am new to Masters. Swam in HS and barely in college before getting burnt out. It has been about 10 years since then. I am 32 now.

I have been practicing for about 6 weeks for 3-4 evenings a week, and about 3000-3500 yrds per workout.

My high school personal best in the 50Y Free was 21.53. After only 2 weeks of workout, I did about 27-ish and in my recent meet this weekend, I went 25.41, so I have already improved somewhat, but I think getting down to 21s may take some time.

So I was just curious if anyone else had a similar story, how long did it take to get back to your HS times, if it was even possible for you? Years? Many Years?

-David

JimRude
October 8th, 2008, 04:40 PM
I started swimming masters in mid 2007, after a 21 year lay-off. In the interim I ran marathons, rode centurys, and got fat.

As a junior/senior in high school, I was a :58 100yd breastroker. In college I went :55, and 1:04 long course.

This past summer, after being back in the water for a little over a year, I went :30 and 1:08 for 50m and 100m breat (LC).

So I am now as fast or faster than in high school; I doubt seriously if I will approach my college times.

YMMV.

hofffam
October 8th, 2008, 05:29 PM
You haven't said what kind of shape you were in when you started swimming again....

I started swimming again in 2004 - 28 years after I graduated from high school. I didn't swim in college although I swam in intramurals meets for which I "trained" two weeks. I was not particularly fast in HS and never raced 50 free.

Six months after I started swimming I remember swimming a 100 IM in 1:07. In college intramurals I swam a 1:01. I think my first 50 free race was a 26+.

About a year later I swam a 1:02 IM and a 25+ 50 free.

I am a little faster across the board two years later.