PDA

View Full Version : Coach Owned Swim Team???

spudfin
October 10th, 2008, 10:11 AM
Good Morning
My son is on a team that is transitioning to a Coach owned team. There is all the associated angst going on from a Board that has been directing the team. Since I have no experience with this I am asking for yours as I am sure this has happened before. What has been your experience? Is this a good thing? What can we expect? For the record the coaches are AWESOME on his team. The Board is not(awesome). My son loves swimming for these guys as do most all of the kids.
Many Thanks
Spudfin

USMSarah
October 10th, 2008, 10:19 AM
I pm'd you.

hofffam
October 10th, 2008, 10:21 AM
I suggest the answer is "it depends."

My kids have swum for both kinds. Our best overall experience was with a coach owned team. But that was because of great coaching. However the team was poorly run. A team is a complex organization. A lot of money is involved. Billing has to be done. Someone needs to handle Team Manager software. Someone needs to handle team clothing orders. Someone has to negotiate for pool access (unless the coach owns the pool - very rare). Our best team eventually came apart because it couldn't hang on to a pool. The head coach was oftena a b*tch and a poor business person. She regularly ran off every volunteer that handled the tasks above.

Other teams do the business stuff well but have crappy coaches.

I think the secret to a well run team is a clear separation of duties for different tasks. Let the coaches coach. Someone diligent and smart needs to handle the operations. And they need to coordinate.

JimRude
October 10th, 2008, 03:23 PM
I have swam for and coached both types of teams. I much prefer coach-owned/controlled teams.

Swim parents are a massive pain in the a$$, and contrary to what many believe there is no connection between owning a business, having a successful child swimmer, being a former swimmer, etc, etc and knowing how to run a swim club successfully.