PDA

View Full Version : Would like comments on Fly & Breast

funkyfish
November 11th, 2008, 09:58 PM
Just swam a short course meet this past weekend. I'm providing a couple of links to my 50 fly and 50 breast. If you can make anything out, I'd appreciate any critical feedback on either of them. I think my fly is still a little too "wavy." Don't know what to think about breaststroke as I'm still learning it. I swam the fly in :24.80 and the breast in :33.53 (these are yds). I'm the one in the yellow "smiley face" cap.

50yd fly
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GiVKLF4IGJY

50yd breast
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WIfrYA5F464

I also swam 100yd free, 100yd fly, and 50 free, but don't want to share any of those as I had goggle problems on all three. Thanks in advance.
:bliss::bouncing::banana:

mjgold
November 11th, 2008, 10:49 PM
Two things real quick: first, be careful on your start. It looks like you did a couple of dolphin kicks there before your pull. If you didn't, it must have been the water and the camera angle, but it sure looked like it. You're only allowed one dolphin kick, and the downward part has to be done after you start your pull. Also, your start was not so good. You were sort of piked, so your feet and head entered the water at the same time. You want to enter the water through one hole, and you want that hole as small as possible. You also don't want to be sitting back when you get set. I noticed when I looked at your fly video that you are almost sitting down when you get set. All that does is waste time and energy getting your center of gravity over the front of the block. You want to be as close to falling off as you can without actually doing it. I used to do the same thing, and my coach had me look directly behind me with my chin tucked to my chest, and it helped a lot.