PDA

View Full Version : I need to drop 150 lbs.

BYU06
November 15th, 2008, 02:02 PM
I am a former football player, power lifter, who has put on 150+ lbs since I graduated High School 10 years ago.

I had just joined 24 hour fitness to undo my 10 year repeat of the freshman 15. I did so because they have a pool and I'm hoping that can turn swimming into a hobby that will help me do so. Now, I've been doing some reading on the internet and from what I've been reading, it appears as if some put on body fat??????????

I need your thoughts por favor.

Syd
November 15th, 2008, 08:58 PM
You might want to search the forum as, if my poor memory serves me well, this has been discussed before. Here (http://forums.usms.org/showthread.php?t=12301&highlight=losing+weight) is a recent thread I could find.

I am no sports scientist but I do know if you want to lose weight while swimming you need to keep your heart rate up ( near the 80% of its maximum range) for about 30 mins a day to get any noticeable benefit. Be warned this is not as easy as it seems (even for a regular swimmer). A few of the really good swimmers on the forum focus on sprinting while training and get their aerobic exercise from spinning, running or other forms of exercise.

elise526
November 15th, 2008, 10:20 PM
Many men have success losing weight by swimming. I think the putting on body fat thing is a problem some females such as myself have encountered. When my husband swims and does interval work, the pounds just melt right off.

isobel
November 16th, 2008, 05:35 AM
My brother lost a lot of weight after swimming for about 8 months (60 pounds or so). He was very out of shape and at the first swim practice told the coach that 800 yards was all he could do, and he wanted to want to come back.

He impressed everyone by going three times a week and working his way up to 3800 yards in those 8 months. He lost a lot of weight and he was never swimming fast.