PDA

View Full Version : Advice...on starting?

Lastrun
November 29th, 2008, 09:40 AM
Greetings:

I wonder if I could have some feed back on the following.

I have started to attempt to get in shape and to lose weight, at this point only to enhance my respect for ...me...by me.

I am 76, 6 foot, and when I started to work out I was 315 lbs.I have been swimming now and then for the last 50 years, before that I was a life guard, swimming instructor and all in all a strong and proffesional lifeguard.

I started to use our condo pool every day, it is 17 yards long and I am doing 52 laps once a day. I would say I cover the 52 laps in 37 min +/_.
(I also started walking and am doing 2 + miles at -20 min) Oh, yes...the hard part...am on 1500 cals per day. This has given me a weight lose 23 lbs since mid Sept.

I enjoy my swimming "work out" but after reading the comments and statments on the forum (Not to mention the yards!!)I have to wonder if I am just kidding myself on the swimming work out?

I guess what I am asking is :

1. Should I seek proffesional help?(For swimming that is!)

2. Should I follow a more formal "work out"

Should I set goals other then just losing weight.?

I guess I am wondering if others have gone through this at my age, you see when you hit 76 or there about, you look 76 but many times you still feel like that 20 year old Marine you were at one time!!

Any comments would greatly be appreciated.

Thanks..................

Typhoons Coach
November 29th, 2008, 05:46 PM
First of all, welcome to the fitness world of swimming. As I always suggest, look for a good master's swim program around your neck of the woods. They take people of all shapes, sizes, and ages and I'm sure would be glad to help you out as well!