PDA

View Full Version : Scholarship + Noob Q's

kombat1
February 8th, 2009, 11:30 PM
Hey everybody, I'm Alex and this is my first post.

That being said I have a few questions regarding getting colleage schorlaships and some other newbie questions as well.

I'm a sophomore in highschool and I just finished up my first season (12 weeks) of swimming at my school.

Swimming in the ocean has always been a passion of mine (I SCUBA dive as well), but I never thought I would fall in love with swimming in a pool.

I would like to take swimming a little more seriously because I want a colleage scholarship, but I don't know where to start or what a colleage scholarship requires.

I remember asking the my swim captin if he has any offers to any swim colleages and he said he only went to one. He is a great swimmer with a best time of 21.7 second 50m freestyle. I don't know if I have to surpass his time, but I'm sure it would help in getting a colleage scholarship.

If any of you who have received full or partial rides to a colleage of choice would like to share how you did it I would very much appreciate that.

Time for NOOB Questions!!!

My coach says my 2 best events are breststroke and freestyle.

Last I checked (at leagues last friday) I got a time of 1:20 on my 100m breast stroke:eek: (I know its slow for my age, but this is my first year of swimming)

And my 50m freestyle is 27.88.
I believe that my 100m freestyle is 1min 4 sec (I have crappy flip turns)

Since I'm on offseason, my biggest question is- How often should I swim to make gains?

Some people tell my as often as possible, but then again I feel that you aren't giving your body time to recover after the workout.
I'm not really sure if that can be said for swimming, but it can be said for kung fu.

At most I feel that I will commit 3 days a week at 24 hour fitness and see a great swim coach (at the Y) for 1 hour once a month. ( I don't know if that is enough time with the coach, but thats what my dad said).