PDA

View Full Version : How do I deal with nerves?

trinollinger
February 12th, 2009, 10:01 PM
I am new to Masters swimming, and I am swimming my first meet at Auburn this weekend. Today when I was practicing, I would get on the blocks and start thinking about the meet. I would get so nervous and shaky that I could barely finish a 50!! After I stopped timing myself and told myself I was "just swimming an easy 50" I did okay. Any advice for Saturday?

Also...I cannot decide about my flip turn. I feel like it is different EVERY time I do it. Sometimes too close, others too far away, and sometimes right on. Should I try it in the meet, or just go for the open turn? It's not like I'm a contender or anything.....

Thanks for any advice!

KEWebb18
February 12th, 2009, 10:07 PM
I am new to Masters swimming, and I am swimming my first meet at Auburn this weekend. Today when I was practicing, I would get on the blocks and start thinking about the meet. I would get so nervous and shaky that I could barely finish a 50!! After I stopped timing myself and told myself I was "just swimming an easy 50" I did okay. Any advice for Saturday?

Also...I cannot decide about my flip turn. I feel like it is different EVERY time I do it. Sometimes too close, others too far away, and sometimes right on. Should I try it in the meet, or just go for the open turn? It's not like I'm a contender or anything.....

Thanks for any advice!

A lot of swimmers use relaxation techniques to prepare for events. I personally am a fan of finding a quiet place. One of my coaches told me that when you step on the blocks, your mind should be clear. You shouldn't think of a single thing except for waiting for the sound of the starting gun.
In terms of flip turns, see how you feel during warm-ups. Go with what you think that you are able to do, and don't get upset if things don't go as well as you want them to. Every race is a great experience to learn! Good luck!!!

CoachML
February 12th, 2009, 10:09 PM