PDA

View Full Version : One arm sets

jesse_d
March 11th, 2009, 03:36 PM
I am new to this forum (lurking for a while). And I am new to swimming as well (one year). My 100M Free intervals are around 1:25 - just as a gauge (with the flip turns of an elephant).

I have taken some lessons but have mostly worked on improving myself - via lots of technique drills & intervals.

I wanted to get people's opinions on One Arm sets (OAS). So far, I have found OAS to be one of the more effective sets for me. These sets seems to exacerbate any problems I am having with one side over another and therefor I can isolate problems and work on them.

In the swimming world does anyone do OAS? Are they just for beginners or not at all? I really just wanted to make sure I don't continue to pile on the one arm sets if there is some negative about doing them that I don't know about.

Regards

greenpeas
March 11th, 2009, 04:05 PM
I believe in almost every work out to add a set of drills. And one arm sets are as good as any drill.

Though there are lots of different drills that one can do. Each one usually works with a different "problem" to correct. My advise is to have a bunch of different drills in your book and mix them all in over a course of weeks or days.

smontanaro
March 11th, 2009, 07:11 PM
And one arm sets are as good as any drill.

I pretty much drown when doing one-arm freestyle. (This is one-arm free with the unused arm at my side.) What is this drill supposed to work on? What knobs should I be turning to try and improve this drill?

Skip

poolraat
March 11th, 2009, 07:35 PM
I pretty much drown when doing one-arm freestyle. (This is one-arm free with the unused arm at my side.) What is this drill supposed to work on? What knobs should I be turning to try and improve this drill?

Skip