PDA

View Full Version : Swimming and a physical job

SwimMann
June 23rd, 2009, 04:44 PM
I was just curious if anyone has to balance training for swim meets and working a physical job. I'm going to school for construction and was wondering if anyone works in the construction industry and swims? i know if some construction workers found out I wore a speedo I'd get quite a bit of heckling! haha

Bobinator
June 23rd, 2009, 06:24 PM
I'm a PE teacher. I run around all day, trek outside (and back in) 12 X per day, climb the wall at least 12 X, and usually do the warm-up with all 12 classes. My advice is to eat alot and stay well hydrated all day long. I have a very short lunch break (less than 30 min start to finish) so I eat a good breakfast, anything I can at lunch, then have a healthy snack before my workout. If I'm really tired (hot outside) I either skip my practice or try to shut my eyes for 20 minutes before I swim.

tjrpatt
June 23rd, 2009, 06:45 PM
I have a friend that did Masters swimming and worked construction. I am guessing that he didn't talk about to his construction friends. Gosh, I haven't seen him in about a few months.

Glenn
June 23rd, 2009, 06:55 PM
I taught physical education for many years and did everything with all the kids. Traveled to 6 schools a day, in and out of the car, set up and break down 12 times a day.........very physical. I couldn't do morning workouts because I was at school by 7:00AM. I did afternoon or evening workouts usually with no problem. Had a big breakfast and healthy (most of the time) snacks during the day.

ViveBene
June 23rd, 2009, 06:59 PM
Heckling anticipated over Speedo? Wear a jammer. Once or twice, so you can say you did, and maybe you'll like it.

They might actually respect you, if they found out you swam seriously.

Find different people to hang out with.
:)

humanpunchingbag
June 23rd, 2009, 07:01 PM