PDA

View Full Version : Dolphin Kick in Breaststroke Underwater Recovery



Midas
July 29th, 2009, 09:07 PM
Yes, it's that discussion again! (For what I mean, see the bottom of the post.) And why have it again? Because now even the Americans are doing it. How can we still hate it?

Take a look at around 2:43 in this video of Mark Gangloff setting the American Record in the 100 breaststroke at US Nats last month:

http://www.swimnetwork.com/videos/v/20090707/nationals_men_s_100_breast_a_final-16785.html

Then take a look at around 1:10 in this video of Gangloff setting the AR in the 50 breaststroke. (In fact, I think all three of them do it.)

http://www.swimnetwork.com/videos/v/20090708/nationals_men_s_50_breast_world_record_attempt-16815.html

Although I couldn't really see it in the video, Paul Wolff says that (non-American) new World Record holder Cameron Van der Burgh also commences/completes his Dolphin Kick before commencing his pulldown:


Once again proof that the dolphin kick in breast needs to go.

At the start of the 2nd semi of 50 breast, Van der Burgh actually COMPLETED his dolphin kick before his hands or arms started to move.

Ah well.


And he did it AGAIN in the final. I know it's hard to see from the deck but with only a single official per lane one would hope that a clear line of sight from the swimmers feet (witnessing the start of the DK) to the swimmers hands (observe if pull has started) would exist and that it would take less than .5 seconds (over the 1.1 seconds between the start of the kick and the start of the pulling action that I timed).

Or do I just not understand the rule as written?

Sigh. Ditch the DK or don't specify when it can be performed.

I'm with Paul. I say we fix the rule so that the dolphin kick can be performed any time before or after commencement of the pulldown.

Having said that, I was toying the other day with doing the dolphin kick slightly AFTER completing the pulldown. I think that is also currently illegal but might be EVEN FASTER. I wonder if that's where Kitajima will go next...


* * * * *


For background, this discussion relates to the timing of the dolphin kick relative to the pulldown. Fan favorite Kosuke Kitajima "innovated" the idea of doing the dolphin kick BEFORE the pulldown rather than after it. Many railed against this. See this thread for all the details:

http://forums.usms.org/showthread.php?t=11538&highlight=kitajima

And this thread has the official "interpretation" of the rule:

http://forums.usms.org/showthread.php?t=12737&highlight=kitajima

ehoch
July 29th, 2009, 09:25 PM
I am pretty sure I saw Kukors do this in her 200 IM ...

It's faster -- it's legal -- it's like the Jaked :applaud:

pwolf66
July 29th, 2009, 09:31 PM
Yes, it's that discussion again! (For what I mean, see the bottom of the post.) And why have it again? Because now even the Americans are doing it. How can we still hate it?

Take a look at around 2:43 in this video of Mark Gangloff setting the American Record in the 100 breaststroke at US Nats last month:

http://www.swimnetwork.com/videos/v/20090707/nationals_men_s_100_breast_a_final-16785.html

Then take a look at around 1:10 in this video of Gangloff setting the AR in the 50 breaststroke. (In fact, I think all three of them do it.)

http://www.swimnetwork.com/videos/v/20090708/nationals_men_s_50_breast_world_record_attempt-16815.html


Yep, Gangloff surely did in that 50 but the time between the kick and the pull was so small that there is no way an official could switch from focusing on the feet to focusing on the hands quick enough to be able to catch it. I frame by framed it and came up with approximately .5 seconds from the downward kick to the arms moving. The 100 was about the same.

But with VDB, the time was 1.1 seconds, MORE than enough time for focus to shift.

Ah well.

Allen Stark
July 30th, 2009, 03:22 PM
I don't like it,I don't like the any dolphin kick being legal,but it is.I suspect it is a bigger advantage with the new suits.It feels less natural for me and takes more air as I am under longer which is not necessarily an advantage especially that last turn in the 200 BR.