PDA

View Full Version : How to learn latest swimming techniques?

fito
June 23rd, 2003, 05:05 PM
How to learn newest swimming techniques?

I learned to swim long time ago… and I was taught how to swim the old fashion (crawl: breathing at the end of the stroke, head 45 degree to the front, S shaped stroke, etc.)

However, I see Olympians swimming totally different… There are so many changes in the way to swim each stroke and I would like to take advantage of these techniques but I don’t know where to learn the new way?

Are there any books or videos (better) that I can use to self teach me the new techniques?

Thanks

Rodolfo

Nancy Graham
June 23rd, 2003, 08:54 PM
I'm pretty new to this wondreful site, and am returning to swimming after a long time away from it. I have gotten great tips and information from several of the knowledgeable people on here.

The Total Immersion books, DVDs and videos may be what you are looking for. I do not have first hand experience with any of these, but from someone's very positive recommendation, I have just ordered my first book.

The site is www.totalimmersion.net.

Hope this will be helpful for you,

Nancy:)

swimmore
September 12th, 2003, 06:11 PM
http://www.swimmingcoach.org/Stroke_video/default.htm

Follow the above and take a look at the video on this site. It will greatly help with stroke count reduction. Please also get a private lesson with a (asca) cert. masters coach. They would better take a look and give more input than reading from a book and then guessing at what is correct and what needs to be fixed.

Good Luck:D

Coach Steven Fair
www.pirateswimming.com
swimmore

Nancy Graham
September 12th, 2003, 07:06 PM