PDA

View Full Version : Ron Johnson

aztimm
August 8th, 2009, 04:25 PM
I took a look and didn't see anything about this, please delete/merge if this is a duplicate thread.

Just checked my email and saw this from our coach:

It is with great sadness that we share the news of Ron Johnson. Ron Johnson passed away suddenly on Friday evening. We will share funeral service and other details as we get them. Please keep Ron and his family in your thoughts.

I saw Ron not long ago, swimming at the ASU Mona Plummer pool, just before a noon workout. He looked as good as ever.

I'll certainly never forget my first workout with Sun Devil Masters. Ron was in the pool, doing 1-1 coaching, while the other coach was up on deck giving the workout. He will certainly be missed.

isobel
August 8th, 2009, 04:36 PM
I'm fairly new to the swim world so wasn't familiar with him, but I saw this article about Ron Johnson on the masters Website, from a while ago:

http://www.usms.org/hist/sto/?ID=183

It's funny (as in odd but somehow reassuring) that the article mentions heaven and what swimmers do up there.

Allen Stark
August 8th, 2009, 04:41 PM
That is so sad.He was a great man and a good man.He will be missed.

JimRude
August 8th, 2009, 04:41 PM
Very sad. Ron was a great guy.

ande
August 8th, 2009, 05:52 PM
swim info story (http://www.swimmingworldmagazine.com/lane9/news/22012.asp?q=Passages:%20International%20Masters%20 Swimming%20Hall%20of%20Famer%20Ron%20Johnson)

here's a YouTube - Rascal Flatts - Why

swoomer
August 8th, 2009, 06:32 PM
Ron will forever remain an icon of swimming in so many ways. My prayerful thoughts go out to his family and the AZ swimming community who knows him best.

geochuck
August 11th, 2009, 12:48 PM
Very sad to hear. A great guy for sure.

Frank Thompson
August 14th, 2009, 07:27 PM