PDA

View Full Version : How to coach freestyle to total beginner?

Superfly
September 13th, 2009, 10:58 AM
Hello!
Next weekend I will try to get two friends to learn how to swim freestyle. I have been swimming for 25 years and have never faced the challenge to teach freestyle to total beginners.
Where to start? What drills works best?

Very greatful for all tips you might have!
cheers!
/Per

SolarEnergy
September 13th, 2009, 01:56 PM
Hello!
Next weekend I will try to get two friends to learn how to swim freestyle. I have been swimming for 25 years and have never faced the challenge to teach freestyle to total beginners.

cheers!
/Per
Start from what they can do naturally with as little explanations as possible, then go from there.

The key is for you to get in the water and demonstrate. We are monkeys, we learn a lot by imitation.

Chances are that you will rapidly need to help them breathe, or finding a suitable breathing position. For this, flutter kick on the side, 1 arm up the other along side the body is good I find.

Betsy
September 13th, 2009, 02:29 PM
One of the local teams in our area has great success in teaching freestyle by starting with kicking on the side. Breathing is easy when you are on your side. They then progress to 6, 8 or 12 kicks on one side and switch to the other side. The swimmers learn to breathe on both sides without really thinking about it. As you reduce the number of kicks before changing sides, it becomes more and more like swimming freeestyle. The instructors get in the water and help the swimmer get in the correct position.
Be sure to post on your lessons go.

SolarEnergy
September 13th, 2009, 08:08 PM
One of the local teams in our area has great success in teaching freestyle by starting with kicking on the side. Breathing is easy when you are on your side. A little trick. Often newbies don't find it *that* easy to find this breathing position. They sometimes feel they sink.