PDA

View Full Version : How big a pain am I?

Surferboy
September 25th, 2009, 11:56 AM
I'm happy with the progress I have made after about 5 weeks in the pool. However, as a newbie, I feel terrible for the other swimmer that gets stuck with me in their lane. One program I joined is made up of moderately serious swimmers and the club I joined is a 5:30-6:30 AM group of serious swimmers.

All the swimmers are very pleasant and helpful, but am I'm I viewed as a major distraction and barely tolerated? And if so, am I better off swimming by myself until I can keep up? I'm hesitant to go to the Sat. morning 5:30 club training because there may be more than 2 swimmers per lane. Thanks for your honest answers. Steve

aquageek
September 25th, 2009, 12:03 PM
Just go, it all gets sorted out.

Chris Stevenson
September 25th, 2009, 12:18 PM
Keep going.

One team I practice with on occasion will set aside an entire lane for an elderly woman who used swimming to recover from rhumatoid arthritis. No one ever complained in the least. (Probably worried about thunderbolts from above if they were so churlish.)

swimmj
September 25th, 2009, 01:01 PM
Keep going. Ask any questions you have. As long as you are reasonably pleasant, you will be welcomed with open arms. And soon you will one of the ones answering "newbie" questions.

dorothyrde
September 25th, 2009, 01:32 PM
Keep going! As long as you are not swimming down the middle and allowing no one to pass, they are not bothered by you! Chlorine is universal with swimmers. We love anyone who loves it.

__steve__
September 25th, 2009, 02:23 PM
am I'm I viewed as a major distraction and barely tolerated?
You got to start somewhere. I went to my first team practice last week.

Bobinator
September 25th, 2009, 03:30 PM
What makes you think you bother people?