PDA

View Full Version : Caps, suits, shaving - what about body weight?

Surferboy
October 5th, 2009, 02:17 PM
I'm a rookie in the pool, and am surprised that keeping one's weight down appears to be less important than I thought. After decades of running with the knowledge that every pound over my running weight added 20 secs to my p/m pace, am I ok being a little chunky? I do aspire to be competitive in my age class. Thanks, Steve

jim clemmons
October 5th, 2009, 03:21 PM
I'm a rookie in the pool, and am surprised that keeping one's weight down appears to be less important than I thought. After decades of running with the knowledge that every pound over my running weight added 20 secs to my p/m pace, am I ok being a little chunky? I do aspire to be competitive in my age class. Thanks, Steve

Fortunately, fat floats but you still have to lug it around. Slimmer's mo' betta.

qbrain
October 5th, 2009, 03:40 PM
am I ok being a little chunky? I do aspire to be competitive in my age class. Thanks, Steve

Yes, you can be competitive and "chunky". Skill is more important than weight. Fat old swimmers swim faster than fit young swimmers all the time because they are technically better swimmers.

FindingMyInnerFish
October 5th, 2009, 03:42 PM
Some research I did on marathon swimming/swimmers (the marathon swimmers here should feel free to correct me) seems to suggest that higher body fat is an advantage, especially in cold water. Witness swimmers such as Lynne Cox who has mentioned in her book that her body type is ideally suited to cold water swimming. And in an article I read about Alison Streeter, record holder for the most the English Channel crossings, Streeter said, "you can't be a skinny minny." Both of these women are strong swimmers and have done some pretty fast swims.

So if you're considering long-distance open water swims, especially cold-water swims, you might want that body fat.