PDA

View Full Version : help on 50 free please

geo123
November 5th, 2009, 12:20 AM
Guys I am facing some problems in my 50 freestyle (LCM). I have a pretty good first 25 meter. where i have a best time of 11.58 (it was digitally timed so no room for error) but i fall out as i get nearer to the wall. My best time in the 50 free LC is 26.60 (I am really new in swimming, i have only timed myself over the 50 three times). So i am taking almost 3.5-4 seconds more in the 2nd 25 where as the elites take from 1.2-1.9 seconds normally from what Iíve seen from a site called swim.ee. Here is the link of mens 50 free from Sydney.
http://swim.ee/competition/sydney2000/mfre50.html
and womens 50 free from Sydney.
http://swim.ee/competition/sydney2000/wfre50.html
Now what can i do to to improve my 2nd 25 of the 50 free. I have a low endurance level. It feels like in the end that i am getting very tired and it is mainly because of my lack of endurance. But then also my stroke also becomes a bit sloppy in the last 7 or 8 meters. I take 3 breaths throughout the 50. i take all three in the 2nd 25. my breathing technique is also very bad. everytime i breath i lose the rythm of my stroke and it is also another factor. So guys can you tell me what can i do to improve my 50 freestyle and be able to do the distance in 23.5-24 seconds in two months time. ALL THE ADVISES WILL BE VERY MUCHHHHHHHH APPRECIATED............................

nkfrench
November 5th, 2009, 10:56 AM
Is your time for the 25m based on a hand touch on a 25m swim ?
Or is it a foot touch as the 25m split on a 50m swim ?

Elite swimmers generally do not get to their level of swimming with just a couple of months preparation.

Sprinters need to be detail oriented in each aspect of their race. There's not much room for error on short events.

These are typical beginner things I see: