PDA

View Full Version : best goggles

dgs73
November 29th, 2009, 08:14 PM
I am new at Masters swimming and have been enjoying the blogs. I have tried a few different types of goggles but haven't yet found the best combination of comfort, air-tightness, and visibility underwater. What do experienced swimmers believe is the best brand and style?

__steve__
December 1st, 2009, 04:14 PM
I have discovered you get what you pay for. My face also usually breaks into to the goggle rather than the opposite.

enshape
December 1st, 2009, 04:29 PM
Did you ever try kiefer.com or swimoutlet.com. I got prescription goggles from kiefer for around $20.00. I swim 2 miles a time in them. they are rather comfortable

aquageek
December 1st, 2009, 04:31 PM
I pefer Swedes. Here's wookie in his preferred swim eyewear of choice:

__steve__
December 1st, 2009, 04:44 PM
Looks like that guy above will get a better DPS than 5% with shaving, more like 40%.

pendaluft
December 1st, 2009, 04:55 PM
You gotta see what fits your face -- I was surprised to find out that Nike goggles (which sounded like a joke to me at first) feel better than anything I have worn over my eyes ever. Good visibility too. I never saw anyone else with them so I conclude that I'm anomalous.

Allen Stark
December 1st, 2009, 04:58 PM
I love the TYR Racetech,but everyone's face is different.

jeffsab
December 1st, 2009, 05:38 PM
Swedish, hands down.

Pros:
1. Custom-sized to your face. (Because you assemble them.)
2. Generate less pressure on eye sockets than goggles with padding.
3. Fit over large noses. (I have a rather big one.)
4. Last forever. (I am still using a pair from 1990, though I have replaced the strap.)
5. Cheap. (<$5.00)

Cons:
1. Can still leak a bit on the start if not adjusted correctly.
2. Smaller field of vision than some bigger goggles.