PDA

View Full Version : 100 Yard Swim with No Rules: Creative Freestyle

stevenwjoe
March 24th, 2010, 02:15 AM
I have a unique race coming up in three weeks as part of the local quad events. It is a 100 yard swim and the rules are simple, just finish it with any combination of strokes, walking, etc. There are no disqualifications for strokes, just no tech suits. Last years winner swam it in 46 seconds and there were three under 48 seconds, so it is very competitive at least at the top end and of course the best times are all done in freestyle. This is my first year and I am use to just swimming straight freestyle within the rules, so I am wondering if there is an advantage to say doing an underwater breaststroke pull out off the dive and the turns before going into freestyle or if anybody has any other creative input as to what rules to break to swim it a little faster that could be tested in practice first. I swim the 100 just above 1:00, so you have some idea where I am at for an old guy. Maybe someone has swam in a similar race and can give some insight.

etrain
March 24th, 2010, 09:22 AM
Fins, paddles and a snorkel!

Lube yourself up with oil... just not the hands, fore-arms and tops of feet!

Butterfly kick the whole thing underwater!

etrain

aquageek
March 24th, 2010, 10:11 AM
Can you do a running start? Are fins allowed? Free is already the fastest stroke so adding in bits from other strokes won't speed it up any

Lump
March 24th, 2010, 10:16 AM
One word: FINS

Leonard Jansen
March 24th, 2010, 10:28 AM
How about a monofin?

-LBJ

stevenwjoe
March 24th, 2010, 06:21 PM
Are you kidding, no race is going to allow fins or paddles. If that was the case I would just bring a kayak. LOL. Yeah, I guess in the end straight free is the fastest way through it, but I have always wondered if an underwater breast stroke off the dive would make a difference. I guess Phelps would just dolphin kick the whole thing. Thanks for the comments.

stillwater