PDA

View Full Version : Paddle help!

Cliff
March 15th, 2002, 04:48 PM
HI all. I need help deciding what paddles to use. I just bought TYR Catalyst paddles size S. I am a male, 23 years old, weigh 150 and swim about 3-4 times a week. I would say that I am intermediate. Basically, I feel that the paddles provide too much resistance for me. Although, the Small size is what it recommened. I have no experience with paddles so I am un sure of how they are suppposed to feel. I am afriad that if I move a size smaller, my hands might be slightly too big for it. The XS is recommended for for males and females 11-12 years old. I am in a bind so any help would be appreciated!!!! Regards, Cliff :)

jim thornton
March 15th, 2002, 10:25 PM
Cliff--I don't mean to sound too curmudgeonly here, but...

Forget paddles altogether. They contribute to shoulder problems, cost money, and make you swim weirdly. I may be iconoclastic here, but I think a sport like swimming is basically about you and the water. Lots of companies would like to sell you gadgets, from underwater radios to bungee cords, but this is not a sport like tennis or skiing or biking where excelling depends tremendously on buying the "right" equipment. (The one exception here, I believe, are body suits like the Speedo Fastskin, but that's another topic.)