PDA

View Full Version : weight loss

jerrycat
August 11th, 2003, 09:27 AM
Hey Everyone!

I've noticed that it was so much easier to loose weight with running, as opposed to swimming. It seems even though i'm swimming hard, the 13 or so pounds that I need to loose haven't budged. When I was running, my diet didn't have to be really clean...in fact I ate pizza at least once a week, and found that it helped me during high mileage. During running, my weight was very low despite the pizza habit. While swimming makes me hungrier, and I'm probably burning more calories per workout, the weight loss isn't there.

Why is this?

Thanks,
Jerrycat

eliana2003
August 11th, 2003, 10:09 AM
Admittedly, I'm not a sports expert, but I've heard that swimming will NOT take weight off... However, I do find (that at least with me) I tend to tone up rather well (as I'm rather stocky, I get muscular really easily), but my weight goes up, because muscle weighs more than fat...

Have you toned up at all? Maybe it's that the muscle that you've been building is counter-acting the weight loss that would otherwise be noticeable on the scale...

peace...

mattson
August 11th, 2003, 10:33 AM
Originally posted by eliana2003
Maybe it's that the muscle that you've been building is counter-acting the weight loss that would otherwise be noticeable on the scale...

In high school, I could tell I was getting in shape because my weight would increase during the season (muscle mass from the weights and swim workouts). That has now changed to "getting in shape = weight loss" due to the spare tire around the waist. :(

Shaky
August 11th, 2003, 12:00 PM
Evolution.