View Full Version : 2010 Kerry O'Brien Coaching Award

Ahelee Sue Osborn
June 11th, 2010, 11:44 AM

The U.S. Masters Swimming Kerry O'Brien Coaching Award
Nominations are due by July 1

The U.S. Masters Swimming Coaches Committee initiated a new award in 2008 with the goal of recognizing coaches who are building our membership in communities throughout our country.

Originally named the Grass Roots Coaching Award, it has been renamed to honor Coach Kerry O'Brien of Walnut Creek Masters, who embodies the passion, dedication, and heart that these coaches bring to the pool deck. It is with the efforts of individuals like these that U.S. Masters Swimming will most certainly move to a greater level.

Address any other questions to: Kerry O'Brien
Coordinator, Kerry O'Brien Award Selection Subcommittee
swim4wc AT netscape DOT net

Past Award Recipients (http://www.usms.org/admin/awards/award.php?a=12):

Selection Process (2009 form):http://www.usms.org/coach/kobinfo.pdf

Nominations must be submitted electronically, except under extenuating circumstances.

Nominations are due by Thursday July 1, 2010

Ahelee Sue Osborn
June 12th, 2010, 05:19 PM
Coaches, Swimmers - and LMSC Coaches Chairs...

Take a look back over your 2009 Coach of the Year nominees and see if there aren't coaches on that list who are deserving of a nomination for the 2010 Kerry O'Brien Award.

Also, I met many coaches at SwimFest10 who demonstrated experience and talked about coaching situations that would certainly qualify them for this coaching award.

Also meant to mention that the Kerry O'Brien award is presented to several coaches. It is not a head coach or "coach of the year" type award.