PDA

View Full Version : is kickboard beneficial

jerrycat
August 19th, 2003, 01:59 PM
Hi all,
It's so funny--sometimes I see people at the pool who really go at it with the kickboard...and then other people wouldn't touch one if their life depended upon it.

I'll admit, I don't use one--mainly becuase I'm impatient, feel like I'm not going anywhere, and am a purist to a fault sometimes.

But, if you think that it's worthwhile, I would incoporate it, all for the sake of improvement.

The great questions are:
Will training with a kickboard make me a better, faster, super awesome swimmer?

And, if you train with one--why? Or, why not?

Thanks everybody (you know you're my outlet!)
JoAnne -aka, Jerrycat ;)

Scansy
August 19th, 2003, 03:05 PM
Jerrycat,

I am no expert, but here is my two cents worth.

It seems to me that the kickboard has its place - just like the buoy for pulling sets. It helps to isolate the kicking portion of a stroke. The board seems to have really helped me to strengthen my legs for the breaststroke kick.

However, I am now phasing out my use of the board. It started because I was getting shoulder soreness when I kicked. It seemed to put an unnatural stress on my shoulders. Since swimmers can have problems with shoulders, I started to back off on the board. I now kick without a board - breast, fly and free kicking. A benefit of ditching the board that I didn't expect is that my swimming has improved. I think that doing kick sets without it puts my body in a more "poper" position - more streamlined. When kicking with the board, I think my upper body rode too high (and the legs too low). This then would translate into the full stroke. So while the board allowed me to strengthen my breaststroke kick at first, I am now doing it in a more proper form. Oh yeah, the shoulder soreness has stopped too.

You may find that kicking without the board is difficult at first - I certainly did. But it will get easier. Your balance will improve in time.

vkanders