PDA

View Full Version : Allergic to chlorine?

Lui
October 4th, 2010, 03:51 PM
I've been swimming regularly for about 17 years.
About ten years ago I suddenly was allergic to all kinds of Eau de Toilettes/Aftershaves and Deodorants. It happened over night.

Then about 5 years ago I started to need a nose clip or else I would have a runny nose for the next few days.

Recently after each workout my armpits are red and burn:badday:

I don't know if it's a reaction or result from the chlorine. Anyone else know these problems?

Karl_S
October 4th, 2010, 05:26 PM
My understanding is that an "allergy" is the over-response of the body's immune system to something that isn't really a threat. Since the immune system's primary duty is to attack biological threats, allergies almost always are a response to something with complex proteins like nuts, pollen, latex, insect droppings, etc. A true allergic reaction to a simple chemical like chlorine is very rare. People who experience an allergic reaction to chlorine are actually experiencing a response to chemicals that are the products of the reaction of the chlorine in the water with substances containing proteins that wash off users of the pool such as sweat, saliva, mucus, urine, feces,... Yea, it's disgusting, but even people with very good hygiene have traces of gross stuff on them. This is one reason why it is important for pools to be very well filtered.

You might see an allergist for advice. If the allergist advises against swimming, I recommend that you seek a different allergist.

geochuck
October 4th, 2010, 05:59 PM
A little dab of vaseline may help, When I swam lots of distance I would put a little vaseline under and around the armpit, your problem could be friction.

Lui
October 5th, 2010, 03:44 AM
You might see an allergist for advice. If the allergist advises against swimming, I recommend that you seek a different allergist.

I'm intending to do that now. I want to find out what I'm exactly allergic to.