PDA

View Full Version : Timing of Weight Lifting Workouts

jab99d
December 15th, 2010, 12:58 PM
I was wondering when the optimal time is to do weight lifting workouts? Specifically, before or after a swim workout? And also, on the same day as a swim workout or the day before or the day after? (I'm fairly new to swimming and only swimming twice a week at the moment.)

I've noticed that when I lift the day after a hard swim workout I can't do as much weight and feel like I may be more prone to injury. If I lift the day before a hard swim workout, it seems like my swim workout may be less productive. So I was thinking that maybe it would be best to hit the gym right after the pool, that way I can get the training load on the same day and have optimal recovery between workouts.

Sorry for the newbie question, but I just can't seem to find info on this. Also, are there any "strength training for swimmers" books you would suggest. Thanks for any help!

JimRude
December 15th, 2010, 01:11 PM
I was wondering when the optimal time is to do weight lifting workouts? Specifically, before or after a swim workout? And also, on the same day as a swim workout or the day before or the day after? (I'm fairly new to swimming and only swimming twice a week at the moment.)

I've noticed that when I lift the day after a hard swim workout I can't do as much weight and feel like I may be more prone to injury. If I lift the day before a hard swim workout, it seems like my swim workout may be less productive. So I was thinking that maybe it would be best to hit the gym right after the pool, that way I can get the training load on the same day and have optimal recovery between workouts.

Sorry for the newbie question, but I just can't seem to find info on this. Also, are there any "strength training for swimmers" books you would suggest. Thanks for any help!