PDA

View Full Version : 100m

Jamesmap2
January 20th, 2011, 12:21 AM
http://forums.usms.org/images/icons/icon9.gif FLY 100m?!?!?!?
Hey guys, I've been swimming for about 6 months now. I swim 4 or 5 times a week for about 3 kays. I recently started butterfly a month ago and almost straight away I could do 30m, but I just can't go any further. I know I've got a good stroke cos a coach I see sometimes said so.

I was wondering if anyone had some drills or anaerobic exercises that would help me do 100m or more cos I've been stuck for ages.

my times
Free
50m: 30
100m:1.18
200m:2.50

25fly: around 15

swimlong
January 20th, 2011, 12:47 AM
Try doing drills of 3 stokes one arm, 3 the other, 3 full stroke (or 4/4/4, if you breathe every two strokes) Increase your distance this way, then reduce the 1 arm until you are swimming full stroke for longer distances.

Another tip: slow your stoke down - reach out and"glide" at the top, when your hands enter. Focus on controlled easy exhales. By improving your distance per stroke, you will swim farther for the same amount of energy.

Another tip: work on your dolphin kick. Do vertical dolphin kick sets in the deep end; practice dolphin on your back, sides, and front; practice dolphin with exaggerated hip action and minimal hip action (flippers help for this).

Mainly, though, don't practice "butterstruggle" stroke - better to go to one arm than learn bad habits.

ande
January 21st, 2011, 05:18 PM
get in better shape

learn how to swim fl relaxed with easy speed

IMPROVE your fly kick

count your strokes (work on adding one more each time)

SDK further

be mentally tougher

Rest a bit longer before each attempt

Get STRONGER from weights

Wear a FAST SUIT

Ask a few team mates to watch you

make it your personal goal to complete a 100 fl
keep working on it till you do
then once you do
CELEBRATE and let us know