PDA

View Full Version : Side Coaching

John316
March 3rd, 2011, 04:36 PM
How do you all feel about parents side coaching kids (10 to 18 years old)?

Is there any time in which you feel side coaching is justified?

I'd love to hear from those of you who are parents of swimmers and admit to have done this before. Where do you draw the line? Do you keep it hidden from your kids coach? Do you agree that most of the best youth swimmers have been side coached to some extent?

Interesting question.:cheerleader:

KevinS
March 3rd, 2011, 05:53 PM
As a coach, I can see the good and bad of it. If a parent is really experienced and knows what he/she is talking about, how can it be bad - we have all benefitted from advice from a variety of coaches. However, I am also a strong believer in quality practices make for a quality swimmer - so if the quality of a practice a parent may be providing is lacking then there could be problems. It is much easier to learn and practice good habits, than to unlearn bad habits that have developed.

I guess as a parent, it all depends on the level of the swimmer. If they are a beginner or a just for fun club swimmer, I don't see how more time in the water could ever be a problem. However if they are a strong USA swimmer AAA/AAAA times and maybe on the verge of some national level cuts, I would say it is best left up a professional coach that is has been training them. But my twins turn 2 next month. Ask me in 10 years and see what kind of response I give.

stillwater
March 3rd, 2011, 07:10 PM
I have never heard the term "side coaching".

If it means giving support and a tip (if asked), I'm all for it. My problem is my kids rarely ask.

If it means being like the knucklehead dad walking up and down the deck during practice, giving poor stroke and training tips, I'm good with it. But, the parent must wear really big shoes, a bright red ball nose, and a shocking pink wig.

jaadams1
March 3rd, 2011, 07:33 PM