PDA

View Full Version : Worst Practices Ever

mcountryman
March 31st, 2011, 09:08 AM
After having what I considered to be a fairly decent meet last weekend, I am having a string of terrible workouts. I am used to having a bad day here and there, but this is ridiculous.

Has anyone else experienced this? I am still in my first year of competing so I am still learning what to expect and what is "normal" for me.

Speedo
March 31st, 2011, 09:45 AM
You can expect to have 2 or 3 days of uncomfortable workouts (or more) following a meet. I'd suggest warming down sufficiently after each event during the meet and drinking plenty of fluids. Still, you will feel it for a while. Take this as a good sign- that you had a good workout that weekend :)

gdanner
March 31st, 2011, 09:56 AM
Was it a multiple day meet or did you swim numerous events? I usually take Monday off (or use it as a recovery day) after a hard 2-3 day meet. How many days per week do you usually swim?

I will say, I had a rough entire week of practices after doing the 3k Postal in the fall. That was very unusual for me, but it was something I hadn't swum hard in years.

I wouldn't worry about it too much. If it extends into the next few weeks, you can post more information (types of practices and lengths, etc) and people will be happy to try and identify what the issue might be. Otherwise, I'd say you're probably just recovering from the meet.

Lump
March 31st, 2011, 10:07 AM
After having what I considered to be a fairly decent meet last weekend, I am having a string of terrible workouts. I am used to having a bad day here and there, but this is ridiculous.

Has anyone else experienced this? I am still in my first year of competing so I am still learning what to expect and what is "normal" for me.

Marianne,