PDA

View Full Version : Swim Faster Stronger

Jazz Hands
May 10th, 2011, 06:14 PM
This thread is an expansion of Ande's Swimming Faster Faster Tip 31: Get Strong. This is where I give advice on how to get stronger for the purpose of swimming faster.

I'm an authority on this subject only in a limited sense. I'm not a swim coach or a strength coach. I made a lot of improvement in my swimming when I started lifting weights, and I've given advice to a few other people (swimmers and non-swimmers) on how to get started on strength training. I draw a lot on conventional strength training wisdom. That's general strength training, not strength training for swimming.

In my opinion, and this is probably the most radical theme I'm going to stick with here, strength training advice for swimmers has always sucked. It is most often some kind of perverted and watered down version of the strength training that actual strong people do. A lot of buzzwords get added (e.g., "functional") and actual weight (i.e., iron) gets subtracted. My number one principle for strength training is this: it's not swimming! Don't mimic strokes, don't worry about skills. Just get stronger. The strength will transfer.

Safety

I'm starting with this at Jim Thornton's suggestion. Your first priority in the weight room is to avoid getting hurt.

Joint pain
This is just like swimming. The rule is: if it hurts, don't do it. Tendonitis comes on slowly, and when you feel it, you should stop doing whatever exercise causes it. There are also rehab/prehab exercises for strength and flexibility targeting any joint you can think of.

Lower back