PDA

View Full Version : people who learn the strokes as adults

cinc3100
September 29th, 2003, 02:33 AM
I learn the four strokes as a kid. But what is it like for you that learned it as adults. I was amazed that some adults are like age groupers better at some strokes than others.

aquageek
September 29th, 2003, 08:08 AM
Is this post a double secret plot to get Ion to post? Are you trying to stir something up?

Tom Ellison
September 29th, 2003, 09:44 AM
And heresssssssssssss Johnnyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!

exrunner
September 29th, 2003, 10:21 AM
What's it like?

When I was in high school, we had swimming class as part of phys ed. There might have been 10 sessions in the pool per year. The classes were pretty disorderly, as the gym teacher could only enunciate a few general principles while trying to serve many skill levels. When I was a freshman, under the tutelage of a patient and long-suffering classmate, I went from "Beginner" to "Advanced Beginner" -- and that is where I remained until I graduated. I otherwise spent most of my obligatory pool time shivering in the corner, trying not to look like I was checking out the girls in their swim suits. For the next 23 years, I did not swim a single stroke. (Exception - one winter I rescued a dog that fell into the swimming pool at the apartment. Lucky I didn't drown, which wouldn't have impressed the chicks.)