PDA

View Full Version : Backstroke and 500 free help

Purple Swimmer
July 13th, 2011, 12:47 AM
I guess I'll make this sort of an introduction thread as well. I'll make that part quick so we can move on to business.

I started swimming a year ago. By "swimming" I mean training for competitive swimming. I had already known how to swim all the strokes. I was a freshman going into sophomore year in high school at the time. What you need to know is that I taught myself all the turns, racing techniques, and starts by watching YouTube videos (NOT expert village) and practice. To prepare for my swim team in the winter, I swam 500s and 1000s to build up my endurance. I wasn't really sure what to expect, and I had know idea what stroke I would be good at.

When time came, I found myself in the distance world, swimming 500 freestyle races. I swam 6:40ish 500s. For a noob swimmer, I've found that isn't half bad, and I got like 3rd or 2nd place in my races. Bu the other 3 events I had to do I usually sucked at. My coach put me on breaststroke races, and I didn't know how to sprint. (as in, I didn't figure out until half way through the season that you need to hold your breath in sprints) So aside from the 500, I did crappy. I think the only reason I didn't fail as much at the 500 was that I had spent all summer and fall swimming 500s and 1000s in preparation.

In the spring I didn't have time to do anything, since I was too caught up in school work. But as soon as summer came again, I hit the pool just like the previous summer. This time, with a better idea of the swimming world. As soon as I started training, I found I could swim a 29 second 50 back stroke. Now, to some of you people here that are very advanced, you probably think that sucks, but I think it's good considering I've never had any formal back stroke training. So, I've decided to build off of that. That, and 500 free style. I'm going to make those my main events, and go from there.