PDA

View Full Version : video of my swimming please critique

Tree
July 16th, 2011, 09:15 AM
Hi there,

I have been away from swimming and this forum for quite a while due to the great work pressure over that period of time. But now I was back to swimming again.

Yesterday my colleague used my mobile phone to videotape my swimming. I uploaded it onto this link: http://v.youku.com/v_show/id_XMjg1NjQ0NDA0.html. I had to use a Chinese video service website as Youtube is banned here at the moment. Please ignore the Chinese characters on that webpage which might appear as error code in your PC. Also sorry for the poor film quality. In addition, for reasons I didn't know, the safeguards stopped us once he found out that my colleague was taping my swimming. So the film was very short as well.

Some background info: I started learning swimming at around 2007 and had a break between 2009 to now. I restarted yesterday when this videotape was taken.

My own take on my swimming:
1, the balance was poor.
2, the kick was horrible. Can I say they were crossing kicks? I have been very poor at kicking since the beginning. Probably kicking for me, as George said many times (Hello George!), is to only provide overall balance of the body?
3, the stroke was sort of too forceful?
4, the synchronization of the stroke and kicking was very very poor as well.

Any suggestions on what I should do next?

Thanks

Li

__steve__
July 16th, 2011, 11:09 AM
Best thing to do would be to use underwater footage,

Allen Stark
July 16th, 2011, 07:06 PM
You appear to be forcing your body rotation and are over rotating.You are also forcing the recovery and slapping the water on hand entry.Try to keep your arm relaxed on the recovery and also work on the finger tip drill(where you recover dragging your finger tips in the water.)

seahare
July 18th, 2011, 12:33 PM
I think you are right with #3. I'm no coach or experienced swimmer and debated about whether to even respond but figure I will offer my opinion.