PDA

View Full Version : Yet Another Watch Question

BluffPlace
August 18th, 2011, 12:36 PM
Hello All,
Newbie here. I just got into the Triathlon sport.

I did my first Tri and completed the 800m swim in about 25 minutes. I'm looking to shave at least 10 minutes off by next season. The bike and run part of the Tri is not a problem.

I have a swim belt which I use twice a week in my pool to help me get use to the constant swim stroke. Once a week, I go to the lake for an OWS.

I know I need a coach to help me out and I'll be using one once I close up the pool for winter which is in about 3 to 4 weeks. At that time, I'll be doing some swim laps.

I'm looking for a watch that will basically tell me that in X amount of time, I swam Y amount of distance. Once I'm swimming indoors, I would like the watch to tell me the number of laps, average time per lap, etc.

Any suggestions?
thanks

orca1946
August 18th, 2011, 02:05 PM
Look into Casio watches for a good set of watches.

Swimosaur
August 18th, 2011, 10:39 PM
I'm looking for a watch that will basically tell me that in X amount of time, I swam Y amount of distance. Once I'm swimming indoors, I would like the watch to tell me the number of laps, average time per lap, etc.

Any suggestions?
thanks

For outdoor use, I have no clue. Basically what you're looking for is a GPS on a watch, with a start/stop button. Surely there must be something out there.

For indoor use, I'd suggest the Poolmate by Swimovate (http://www.swimovate.com/). The unique feature of the Poolmate is that it will count laps for you automatically, so you don't have to press a button every lap. It will also record average time per lap and several other possibly useful metrics. I had a Poolmate for a while. Provided you take at least seven strokes per length with the watch-bearing arm, it works brilliantly, especially on longer swims.