PDA

View Full Version : Complete Noob With Questions

shyguy
October 25th, 2011, 09:43 PM
Hey guys! I'm a skinny, unathletic 28yo that just started swimming. I swam on my own for a couple months and just joined a masters team (w/ coach) a couple weeks ago. I'm mainly doing this for fitness right now, but I would like to try and improve as much as I can. I'm very slow - around 2mins/100m in my attempts at "fast" sets :eek:. Doing anything more than 2:20/100 for any length of time feels like I'm killing myself.

I guess I'm wondering what reasonable goals would be in 1 month, 3 month, 1 year for an average person in my position. Is it reasonable to expect that I can achieve halfway reasonable times? I worry that I might be one of those people that just has a really low aerobic ceiling or something.

Also, how often should I be practicing? I've been swimming 3 times a week (an hour a practice right now, around 2000m). Should I increase this soon or wait? If so, how soon?

swimslick
October 26th, 2011, 02:28 PM
Sounds like a conversation you should be having with your new coach! There are so many variables so it would be hard to answer those questions without knowing more. For example, are your strokes technically sound? You'll find that if you can technically improve your strokes, you'll swim more efficiently, faster, and with less of a feeling of killing yourself :)