PDA

View Full Version : A daring comeback

swoo47
November 8th, 2011, 10:06 PM
I have for you an all too common tale of a (former) swimmer who regrets ever quitting the sport.

I am a college sophomore who has been feeling more unmotivated than I ever have in my entire life. Getting up and going to classes is even becoming a struggle and truth be told, I'm miserable. I swam competitively from age 7 through high school, and without sounding pretentious I a garnered a fair amount of success (frequented the top 10 list in my lsc, etc etc) I was always one of those kids with the insane "sports parents" who made me feel like swimming was my career (ie, i had actually been GROUNDED on multiple occasions for "not swimming my hardest" what?) and once I got into high school I started to hate swimming, and my performance and effort reflected that. By my junior year of high school I was so fed up with swimming I stopped swimming year round and just swam for my high school team, which I certainly don't regret at all. At the end of my sophomore year I cranked out a 21.6 scy 50..my last top effort swim of my career

Even though my parents were insane, I loved my teammates and I loved being in the water. Swimming was the only thing that really let me release my frustrations and helped keep me focused in life. Basically swimming helped me deal with life, something I'm sure most swimmers can relate to.