PDA

View Full Version : New Masters Coach

tinaj
December 15th, 2011, 12:10 PM
I am seeking any advice about building a masters group and coaching. I have been a coach for a competitive childrens team ages 5-13 and have subbed as a masters coach, but I am taking over the masters program at our local YMCA and looking for ideas and ways in which I can make this program better. Right now I have 3 masters swimmers and really want to grow the program and become a great coach. Any ideas, thoughts, recommendations are welcome and helpful.

Thanks!

Coach Tina

dsidner
December 23rd, 2011, 01:29 PM
Tina, Here is a useful manual for building a masters program.
Good luck!
http://www.usms.org/admin/building.pdf
:banana:

GGS5T
December 25th, 2011, 06:29 AM
Hi Tina,

Firstly, I want to say how envious I am of you! I started a masters club here in England several years ago, and within three years we were the top club nationally with several world, European and British champions on board. The years spent building the club were the happiest of my swim/coaching life. I’ve thought about this a lot recently - I’d love to start my own club all over again.

I started with six swimmers but I was fortunate because I had a terrific catchment area to recruit swimmers from. Many masters were disillusioned, mainly because they were training as part of an age group club elsewhere. They just had one lane in a pool full of youngsters. When we had 12 swimmers in the group, which was very soon after word got around, we took the plunge and hired our own pool. Pool hire over here was cheap, and pool availability was relatively easy to come by.

I fully understand that you are right at the beginning of this project, with only three masters swimmers involved, but I hope I can give you something to think about for the future. The methods and ideas we developed together as a successful unit will come in handy if I go through this journey again.