PDA

View Full Version : Recommended OWS blogs?



mrsbananars
March 22nd, 2012, 11:24 AM
Hello! I've recently become very interested in open water swimming. I swam a 2.4 last year, and I recently signed up for my first 5k! I'm hoping to participate in the Highland Lakes Challenge in the fall. One day I would love to swim a 12 miler...

Anyway, I'm trying to soak in as much info as I can, and would like to learn what other swimmers are up to.

Can you recommend any blogs or websites? Or even books or biographies about ow swimmers? I have enjoyed reading Lynne Cox's books...she's nuts!

Who do you follow?

Thanks!!!

mjtyson
March 22nd, 2012, 03:22 PM
Marathonswimmers.org.

rxleakem
March 24th, 2012, 08:25 AM
I follow Pat Galant (http://patgalant.blogspot.com/), an amazing grandma who last year swam the English Channel and Catalina!

Her blog inspired me to swim my first 2.4 mile event in 2010 and opened up my love for OW. :drowning: :cheerleader:

evmo
March 25th, 2012, 08:50 PM
A few of my favorites (alphabetical order, except for Bob):

- Bob Swims (http://www.bobswims.com/blog/) (aka, E=H20)
- chaos (http://forums.usms.org/blog.php?u=3970)
- Chicken of the Sea (http://forums.usms.org/blog.php?u=8691)
- Daily News of OWS (http://dailynews.openwaterswimming.com)
- Darren Miller (http://www.darren-miller.com/blog.html)
- Donal Buckley (http://www.loneswimmer.com/) (LoneSwimmer)
- Jen Schumacher (http://jenschumacher.org/blog)
- Karen Throsby (http://www.thelongswim.blogspot.com/)
- Kim Chambers (http://kimswims.squarespace.com/blog/)
- Mallory Mead (http://mallorymead.com/category/blog/)
- Mike Tyson (http://mtheads.typepad.com/10kmarathonswim/)
- Penny Palfrey (http://palfreymarathonswims.com/)
- Rob Aquatics (http://www.robaquatics.com/)
- swimsuit addict (http://forums.usms.org/blog.php?u=8157)
- Throw Me in the Ocean (http://www.throwmeintheocean.com/)
- WaterGirl (http://watergirl.co/)

For blogs specific to marathon swimming (not just OWS), there's a good list here (http://www.marathonswimmers.org/forum/discussion/23/open-water-blogs).

Also, Karen Throsby maintains an excellent list here (http://www2.warwick.ac.uk/fac/soc/sociology/staff/academicstaff/throsby/homepage/channelswimmer/resources/blogs/).

-----
www.freshwaterswimmer.com
www.marathonswimmers.org

hawkssb04
April 9th, 2012, 07:37 PM
I follow Gordon Gridley's blog religiously. He's probably the top open water swimmer in Utah, plus he swims in the Great Salt Lake, which is insane. The salt water content in that thing is off the charts, so it's very difficult for some swimmers. He's the world record holder in GSL and he's swimming the English Channel in August. He also is one of only a handful of people to finish the Bear Lake crossing, which is about 20 miles. He blogs every day and offers a lot of good workouts and advice to open water swimmers, new or experienced. Or, if you want to read about a relatively new open water swimmer, you can check out my blog. I started last year, doing my first 1-mile and 5k swims and plan on doing a 10k and 7-mile lake crossing this year. Here are the links.

http://gordsswimlog.blogspot.com/
http://mgerrish.blogspot.com/

evmo
April 9th, 2012, 08:44 PM
I follow Gordon Gridley's blog religiously.

How did I miss Gords' blog?! I didn't mean to. Sorry, Gords.