PDA

View Full Version : coach for english channel swimmer

hankmc
April 7th, 2012, 02:40 PM
Hi
I am a 58 yo swimmer and am mediocre in ability. My forte is endurance. I began training for the English Channel two years ago and have built some endurance base and have recently started with cold water training. I feel I have a long way to go and am scheduled to swim the EC during the tide of Sept. 1 week, 2014.
I am looking for a coach to help me improve my stroke a bit and to develop a strategy for enduring cold water. I have made a bit of progress with these but could definitely use help.
I am also new to this post so I am hoping all goes well in my attempt to send this and to receive messages.
I believe I can do this and just as strongly believe I need coaching!
Cheers,
Hank McGovern
New London, NC
phone: 3363023444
email: epictetus@rtmc.net

Kevin in MD
April 9th, 2012, 12:38 PM
Post this message in the open water section of this forum and check out the yahoo message board for the Channel swimming and Piloting Federation.

Rob Copeland
April 9th, 2012, 02:05 PM
Hank,

There are a few folks of this forum who have swum the channel and can provide advice. And I agree that coaching is vital to succeed.

I’ve coached a number of open water swimmers; however I’m reluctant to offer to coach anyone without being able to do hands on coaching.

And before offering any general advice, can you quantify what you mean by “…mediocre in ability. My forte is endurance.” Are you talking about a 20-30-40 minute mile pace? And for endurance are you talking non-stop 2-3-4-5 hour swims? Also, how about your open water experience; what’s your longest training swim? Longest race?

Also I suggest you may want to look for 2 separate coaches. Your local Masters club coach should be able to help you improve your stroke and a coach watching you swim is far better than a remote coach. And then have an open water coach to help with open water and cold water training.

evmo