PDA

View Full Version : Hey there, new an alone : )

qpartridge
April 26th, 2012, 09:03 PM
My name is Quenby and I am brand new to usms. I train on my own and live in a rural area in Oklahoma. I would love to compete again (swam all through high school) but of course college, marriage and kiddos happened. I know I am not incredibly fast but I am driven and dedicated. Any suggestions at all would be much appreciated.

That Guy
April 26th, 2012, 09:40 PM
My name is Quenby and I am brand new to usms. I train on my own and live in a rural area in Oklahoma. I would love to compete again (swam all through high school) but of course college, marriage and kiddos happened. I know I am not incredibly fast but I am driven and dedicated. Any suggestions at all would be much appreciated.

Welcome Quenby! Check out this thread: Ande's Swimming Tips: Swimming Faster Faster - U.S. Masters Swimming Discussion Forums

orca1946
April 26th, 2012, 10:25 PM
Keep looking at our forums & you will get ALL types of info & maybe a group to swim with! Welcome!:applaud:

rxleakem
April 27th, 2012, 09:01 AM
:welcome:
We have access to seven coaches in the workouts area of the forums, with different focuses on training. All good. Also, check out the member blogs (http://forums.usms.org/blog.php?do=list) to see what other swimmers are doing, and maybe even swipe some sets. :D

I've been back in the water for three years, and would encourage you to start out with a little less intensity than where you think you should be. Let your body respond to the workouts and then build up from there.

Most importantly, have fun! Posting here helps to that end.
:thewave:

Fins25
April 29th, 2012, 06:20 PM
I agree with everthing said so far. This forum is a great resource. When you get back in the water, I have found it is important to simply enjoy it again. This will help keep you motivated. All the best

ElaineK
April 29th, 2012, 08:18 PM