PDA

View Full Version : I am now a Swim Coach!

Couroboros
June 4th, 2012, 02:20 AM
So, last month, I applied for and got a job with my swim club. Six evenings a week, I will be coaching small groups of kids who are at the pre-competitive level, kids who have moved on from our swim school and are on the cusp of moving into the competitive teams.

I don't make the workouts for weekday practices, but on weekends I get to improvise. So far, I'm enjoying the training, but I'm wondering what coaches do to stop their voices from getting a bit hoarse. What do you guys think? What do you find is most important about coaching little kids, from ages 5-8 or so?

Also, as an aside, I will be tapering come the beginning of July for my end-of-season meet. It's hard to believe the taper is now just a month away. Do you guys think I should take the second week of my taper off from working and find substitutes for that week? I just ask because I've always read here on the forums here and there in threads about tapers that you want to stay off your feet.

Thanks in advance for all your advice!

jaadams1
June 4th, 2012, 08:08 AM
Also, as an aside, I will be tapering come the beginning of July for my end-of-season meet. It's hard to believe the taper is now just a month away. Do you guys think I should take the second week of my taper off from working and find substitutes for that week? I just ask because I've always read here on the forums here and there in threads about tapers that you want to stay off your feet.

I work a pretty physically demanding job for the most part (as compared to some "desk jockeys" out there), and I just do my taper in the pool when it comes to taper time. The rest of your life you just have to deal with as an adult. Just take it easy as best you can, without interferring with your normal life.

gobears
June 4th, 2012, 08:25 AM