PDA

View Full Version : Nationals,Fun and swimming fast

Allen Stark
June 18th, 2012, 12:43 PM
I have decided I am going to LCM Nats at Omaha with the goal of having fun.
You are probably wondering why I'd start a thread to announce that;it's because I have never done that before.I have been going to Nationals since 1975 and it has always been with one thing in mind, "swim fast",(by my standards.)This meant that if I met my goal I was happy and if I didn't I was pretty miserable until I figured out how to do better next time.For most of the time the concept of "fun" never entered my mind.A couple of years ago, when Don McKenzie died,Bob Strand wrote a moving account of racing him and one thing really struck me;before the race Don would say "lets have fun."I literally had never thought about racing that way.I started saying it to the people in the next lane from me at meets,mostly as a reminder to me of this truly alien idea(and never before the 200 BR.)
My last taper meet was at The Pacific SCY Zones and I did pretty well there,so I was pretty happy.Right after that I got sick and was out of the water 10 days and I hurt my back so that I couldn't swim BR hard or fly at all.All in all I have gotten about 4 good weeks of workouts in to this point and am ready to "taper".(How do you taper from 4 good weeks.) I seriously thought about not going to Omaha ,since I didn't feel ready to "swim fast." But then I thought ,"If a friend asked you what to do,you'd tell them to forget about times and just go to have fun." I am really not sure how this will work,but I decided to try.I'm not sure I can (I'm an old dog and this is a new trick),but if you see me at Nats and I look different,maybe it's because I am having fun.

smontanaro
June 18th, 2012, 01:04 PM
... Don would say "lets have fun."

Damn fine slogan for a t-shirt methinks...

Skip

ande
June 18th, 2012, 01:33 PM
Having FUN is what it's all about.