PDA

View Full Version : Racing events? Middle Distance? Advice please

Nickel
July 11th, 2012, 11:44 AM
I am about to enter my first race but I am not sure what events to do. I ran track years ago and did better at the middle distance events (800 and 1600). What events would be better for me as a swimmer? I am still relatively new to swimming and don't even know what times I should be aiming to swim. Any advice?

ande
July 11th, 2012, 12:13 PM
I am about to enter my first race but I am not sure what events to do. I ran track years ago and did better at the middle distance events (800 and 1600). What events would be better for me as a swimmer? I am still relatively new to swimming and don't even know what times I should be aiming to swim. Any advice?

swim everything
50's, 100's, 200's, 400's 800's & 1500's
find out what your times are
figure out what you like
see how your times relate to each other
decide on your goals

running fitness does not always translate to swimming fitness

poolraat
July 11th, 2012, 12:26 PM
swim everything
50's, 100's, 200's, 400's 800's & 1500's
find out what your times are
figure out what you like
see how your times relate to each other
decide on your goals

running fitness does not always translate to swimming fitness

What he said!

Like you I was also a runner and specialized in the middle distance. Then after college spent several years doing road races and the occasional all comers track meet when I could find one. Quit running when I was in my mid 30's and took up swimming when I was in my late 40's. I've swam everything from 50's to 10k but am primarily a free, back and fly sprinter.

Nickel
July 11th, 2012, 02:50 PM
Thank you for the advice. I guess it couldn't hurt to get a feel for different races and then decide what I like. I hope this won't be my only race so I should be thinking long term.

knelson
July 11th, 2012, 03:09 PM