PDA

View Full Version : Questions from a former runner

j2c
July 19th, 2012, 09:58 AM
Hello everyone,

I am a 40 yr old male who has been a distance runner most of my life. I have logged countless miles training for marathons all over. Unfortunately I got old :cane:. About a year ago I had minor knee surgery and decided that my running hobby was no longer something I could sustain if I wanted to have knees left when I get to 60. I took up swimming once the knee healed. I am very thin and have never been much of a swimmer. I apparently don't float which makes swimming hard but I keep plugging away. My goal is to stay in shape and maybe get some of those swimmers broad shoulders :). My question is what kind of program should I be following? I am not very good at any stroke besides freestyle and I currently swim for about 30 min a day/6 days a week and do either weights, yoga or elliptical machine for an additional 30 min a day/6 days a week. Given my age, goals, skill level and time constraints, can someone point me to a good set of workouts?

Thanks,
J

Rob Copeland
July 19th, 2012, 10:33 AM
If your primary goal is to stay in shape, then 30 minutes of swimming on your own 6 days a week sounds okay.

However, if you would like to improve technique, efficiency, speed and/or endurance then I would suggest you look for a coached Masters Swimming program in your area. Places to swim can be found under the Local Programs tab on the home page.

j2c
July 19th, 2012, 11:18 AM
Thanks for info. I was hoping to find some workouts and I am not averse to working out more, I just need a little guidance. Finding a coach is probably not an option since I live in a very rural area. Thanks again.

J

Rob Copeland
July 19th, 2012, 12:01 PM
In that case, there are lots of great workouts in the Workout section of the forum.
Workouts - U.S. Masters Swimming Discussion Forums

__steve__
July 19th, 2012, 02:02 PM