PDA

View Full Version : Caps make me too hot. Anyone else?

greenjeans11
February 23rd, 2013, 09:41 PM
I've been competing for about 2 years. I'm in my late 50's, female, carry extra weight, and swim from 50's to 500 distance. Anyway, if I wear a cap- even latex- for a meet, I get too hot and am distracted.:bitching:

So I've quit wearing a cap, ever.:wiggle: (I've been hot for 20 years, so it's nothing new). I think I just did my 6th meet. Goggles are finally staying on for starts.

Is there any reason to wear a cap? I assume I'm slower- but I can focus better. My hairs short.

Am I the only one too hot to wear a cap?

By the way, late this spring I'm going to try open water, where the Lake Erie water should be nice and cool.

I'm new to posting, here goes.:)

ekw
February 23rd, 2013, 09:51 PM
Caps can be really hot. If you're happy without one and you don't find your hair is getting wrecked by pool chemicals, I say more power to you!

I think in many open water races caps are required for safety reasons, but the water will be cooler there.

greenjeans11
February 23rd, 2013, 09:56 PM
ekw, yes, the chemicals are a challenge on my hair. I condition 2 or 3 times after swimming. It's worth it.

hnatkin
February 23rd, 2013, 09:59 PM
Maybe you're just swimming in a warm pool. I'm pretty intolerant of warm water so if they temp goes above 82 I ditch the cap as well. But not for a meet. Generally pool temps go up in the summer because swim team is not in season so I end up verging on blonde in the summer from the chlorine!

Herb
February 23rd, 2013, 10:55 PM
No, you aren't the only one. Ditch it.

mcnair
February 23rd, 2013, 10:55 PM
Open Water events will require a cap for safety (helps kayakers keep track of swimmers strung out all over the lake); and if Lake Eerie is anything like Lake Michigan, you'll appreciate preserving some of that heat. I rarely wear a cap myself... only for meets, or time trials... because in your average pool it is too hot for long hard swims.