PDA

View Full Version : Monofin - Worth it?

Boomerang
May 22nd, 2013, 05:20 PM
Am seeing more sprint workouts using monofins and am wondering if the benefit is worth the $ investment. I have zero experience with a monofin - is there really a difference between using monofin and just regular fins? What are some typical training scenarios where you'd use a monofin instead? Anyone with personal experience for/against a monofin feel free to comment. Thanks!

ElaineK
May 22nd, 2013, 07:06 PM
Am seeing more sprint workouts using monofins and am wondering if the benefit is worth the $ investment. I have zero experience with a monofin - is there really a difference between using monofin and just regular fins? What are some typical training scenarios where you'd use a monofin instead? Anyone with personal experience for/against a monofin feel free to comment. Thanks!

Fort (The Fortress) swears by her monofin. If she doesn't see your post, you might want to send her a PM. She would be worth listening to, as she is world record holder. :agree:

smontanaro
May 22nd, 2013, 08:16 PM
I'm curious if there are issues with monofins in lap swim settings. Aren't they made of stiff fiberglass? Might be a safety issue if you're not lucky enough to have a lane to yourself. Leslie will probably know about this aspect as well.

OTOH, if you can't use it in the pool, it would be kind of cool to use it in open water. :-)

Syd
May 22nd, 2013, 08:20 PM
Even if you only use it just to do this (http://swimswam.com/biggest-monofin-jump-on-video/), I think it worthwhile.

Jimbosback
May 22nd, 2013, 11:06 PM
Even if you only use it just to do this (http://swimswam.com/biggest-monofin-jump-on-video/), I think it worthwhile.

I don't know anything about monofins, but now I really want to see how high Fortress can dolphin jump!

Atlantic
May 23rd, 2013, 09:28 AM