PDA

View Full Version : Confused by first USMS practice. Expectations vs reality?

cbach
July 23rd, 2013, 11:13 PM
Greetings everyone,

I am a full time university student and a brand new member to USMS. My first practice was yesterday and I guess you could say it was WAY different than I expected. I apologize in advance this will likely end up being a bit long.

I have always loved swimming but the only "formal" classes I have had are limited to the "how not to drown" stuff they teach you in 3rd grade. I am comfortable in the water and swim every chance I get. I am nearing 30 and at 5'4 and 230lbs I am visibly out of shape. I live an active life. I dont drive and easily walk several miles daily. I eat well. But for the most part but I have not been making fitness a priority for the last few years. I have a medical condition that makes it very difficult to lose weight and extremely fatigued all the time. I just got diagnosed and am currently taking medication for it. This has made me feel well enough to take on new challenges. I have decided I want to become a good proficient swimmer.

So that brings me to the topic at hand. I first looked at options my school offers (it has a really nice pool). The swim team would be unlikely as I am a beginner. They had some clinics but they are over for the summer. That left masters swim. The community was described as: